People should be allowed to continue to work as long as the want to, and not be forced to retire at a particular age such as 60 or 65. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experiences.

With the extension of longevity due to the advancement of medical care, whether or not seniors should retire or not spike a heated debate. While some convey that the old should continue to work till they desire, others maintain that they should retire at 60. Given the fact that people are ageing better than before and that we should appreciate and make use of their experiences, I utterly support canceling the mandatory retirement age. To begin, the older generation in modern society is much stronger and healthier than that in the past. I believe the major reason why people were stepping down at the age of around 60 back in the day is that they were no longer as active as they had been in adulthood. If we observe those aged 60 to 70 in our society, a lot of them have unexpectedly impressive mobility that will not affect their profession at work. For example, there are uncountable members on the board of well-known international corporations that should have been told to enjoy their retirement lives but yet, they are still well functioning and serving the companies. Therefore, it is totally acceptable for them to stay in the workforce as long as they are capable of their job duties. On the other hand, the younger generation may feel intimidated because they lack upward mobility if the old men do not retire. However, their richness in life and work experiences is what makes them valuable in different contexts. For instance, my dad was a fabulous and inspiring teacher and he always received questions and enquiries from his counterparts about how he dealt with problematic students and his teaching techniques. These wisdom would not have been accumulated and passed on if my dad retired early. Consequently, these employees are some useful assets to the companies and should not be required to leave just because they are old. To conclude, having discussed the improved health condition of most seniors and the importance of having experienced workers, I disagree that people should get retired when they reach a particular age. Instead, we should obtain an open attitude and learn from them humbly so that society can develop better and better.