In some countries. People waste a lot of food that they have bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food in that way? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away.

While famine is a dangerous and major problem in developing countries, conversely citizens of developed countries such as the USA, misuse the ample amounts of food which they purchase from shops and restaurants. In this, the context I will elaborate on the rationale behind people wasting food and ways to decrease food wastage. Firstly, the reasons for food wastage are that food service sectors in many developed countries have family meal deals selling at lower prices, therefore citizens with either small, medium, or large families tend to purchase family meal combos, and many families end up throwing the food as they are unable to consume. These combo meals are mainly sold in wholesale supermarkets and fast- food outlets. Furthermore, these large size meals lead to non-communicable diseases such as cholesterol, diabetes, and obesity since large meals are predominately crafted with non-healthy food. Secondly, a certain section of people does monthly groceries which includes fresh vegetables and fruits, and the freshness of these items drops, which again leads to food waste. To overcome this situation, in my point of view is that the food industry needs to plan out alternative options for family meals at an affordable price which will support reducing food waste. Additionally, recyclable options where this has become a very trending topic in European countries such as Norway, and Sweden as there is zero food waste. In conclusion, my opinion in this matter, the population of the country needs to act responsibly to decrease the waste of food and it is the duty of the individual to reduce food waste in their household which will benefit the country and the world.