The proportion of older people is increasing, what problems will this cause and what solutions can be suggested?

With the advances in economy and technology, the population of older generations have been rapidly increasing. Thus, this trend has presented various social challenges. This essay will explain the main problems facing our society right now and the possible solutions. The main problem is the economic pressures on the youth. Younger people will endure the massive financial burden. It is hardly a surprise that the smaller number of young people will pay more taxes to support the elderly's welfare. Although there are many older people who plan their retirement, some disadvantaged people may not be able to do so. Without the working-age populations' help, it is impossible for them to survive. Hence, the new generations will have to cope with the higher charges to help the senior citizens' lives. To solve these issues, it is vital that older individuals can work to support themselves financially. I believe the government can provide opportunities for them to remain in the workforce longer as well as participate in paid activities that are meaningful for society and beneficial to them. These choices will not only aid the economic pressures on the younger individuals but also help the elderly to live independently. In conclusion, the increasing number of older citizens can cause overwhelmingly high financial charges for the younger workers to help with their living. However, this problem can be improved by offering them choices to retire late or join valuable activities that reward them financially. In addition, It will take the burden away from the younger people and improve the older individuals' self-esteem and independence.