Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

plastic is one of the most detrimental factors that can harm the environment to great extent. plastics pollute lands and water and also degrades the fertility of the soil and could impact animals ' lives. recycling, reusing and reduction of plastic items might be the most workable solutions. plastic creates a huge strain on the environment. One of the first problems of bottles, bags, and packaging made of plastic would be remaining on land for thousands of years as nonbiodegradable materials and it could impair the breathability of soil which plays a major role in the health of the soil and growing plants as a result. moreover, plastic impacts not only natural sources but also, animals ' lives. plastic that reaches water bodies such as oceans could be the main threat to marine animals. for example, recent reports have shown that a large number of animals such as fish and birds lost their lives because of waste plastic that was left in water sources. thus, plastic involves the entire ecosystem, and, extending the aforementioned dilemma could lead us to real disaster. authorities and people can turn the tide and mend the damages done to the environment to great extent. A possible solution to this problem regards individuals would be putting plastic waste to separate recycle bins and using biodegradable bags. for instance, fabric delivery bags can be used instead of plastic ones in grocery stores. in addition, government and political leaders have to ensure the recycling and reusing of plastic processes. using plastic material objects has been common for its low cost among societies. Therefore, another viable solution would be to impose a hefty tax to reduce the consumption of plastic -made items by governments. in conclusion, the destructive effects of plastic on an ecosystem would be undeniable. contributing of people and political men can decrease the negative consequences of this global issue.