Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

The treatment of many diseases is very expensive and people are unable to afford the cost, especially in poor countries. As a result, many people die from diseases because they cannot buy the required medicines. I firmly believe that drug companies can contribute to saving lives by reducing the prices of their products. In third-world countries, there are a large number of people below the poverty line. If they catch a disease, they can sometimes go to a government hospital for treatment, but those hospitals prescribe expensive medicines for the patients. For example, a cancer patient needs different types of medicines that are unaffordable for the poor. Therefore, a lot of lives can be saved if drug manufacturers lower the prices of life-saving medication. Moreover, in poor countries, people generally do not buy health insurance. Having no health insurance adds fuel to the fire for lower-class people if they have to go through a long treatment. As pharmaceutical businesses make huge profits, they can easily become a helping hand for these individuals. For instance, pharmacies can give some discounts to the poor according to the policies of drug companies. Even a small discount for people below the poverty line can have a significant impact on saving lives. Admittedly, not all businesses can afford to reduce the prices because of the manufacturing costs. Such companies can ask the government for subsidy, or request for exemption on sales tax. In this way, they can bear the burden of reduced prices on certain medicines. In conclusion, many people cannot afford expensive treatments in poor countries which eventually results in a lot of casualties. These lives can be saved if big profit-making drug companies start selling medicines with some discounts for the poor. Although it is not possible for all companies, they can still contribute to affordable medication by changing their policies with the help of the government.