More and more people prefer to read e-books rather than paper books. What are reasons for this? What problems can this cause for libraries?

In recent times, the reading preferences of people have changed drastically. Most individuals prefer to read e-books over traditional paper books. This is happening because of the popularity of the internet, and the portability of these electronic versions. As a result of this phenomenon, traditional libraries are facing some issues like losing the public interest to reach such facilities in order to gather some knowledge. The following paragraphs of this essay will analyze these factors in a broad manner. To begin with, Pdfs are can be easily found. The major reason behind this is the popularity of the internet, as well as the technological advancement that happened. Because of this transition, people started to convert old paper publications into electronic versions and they make sure those were available on the internet, subsequently, these converted materials started appearing online. For example, now most educational institutes encourage their students to refer to these materials, rather than buying publications at stores or finding them at libraries. In addition to that, the portable quality of these made an additional advantage to bring these versions more preferable over traditional books. Thus, the old libraries are now facing some threats to their extinction, such as losing public interest to reach these facilities in searching for knowledge. For instance, a Canadian survey revealed, that the majority of the world population now refuses to reach physical libraries to read books. Furthermore, they have stated is 40% of the world population and is still growing in numbers. To conclude, we need to move with the newer technology, and we must find alternatives for the traditional libraries as face a loss of passion in the habitat, as people prefer reading PDFs since they are easy to find and not only that, they are portable. Hence, governments must make necessary changes to the existing methods to align with the newer technology.