Success is often measured by wealth and material belongings. Do you think wealth is the best measure of success? What makes a successul person?

In today's materialistic world, it is often agreed that money and material possessions are the gold standards for measuring a person's success. This essay will highlight why wealth is not the right indicator of success and explain why I believe that happiness is the only and right sign to define the achievement of an individual. While wealthy people are often seen as successful, I disagree that people's achievements are defined by how much money they earn or the properties they own because happiness can not be bought. In other words, money only plays an inconsiderable part in our lives so it can not be sufficient to provide the tranquillity and welfare that every person ought to have in order to be successful. For example, a rich celebrity who lives in a mansion, drives luxury cars, wear fancy clothes, and yet still depressed. Hence, despite being rich, many people would not consider him to be successful. Furthermore, it is clear that material belongings are not the keys to a successful happy life. There is a growing body of research which suggests other elements play a pivotal role such as having healthy relationships or being grateful and not greedy. For instance, a person who has a loving family that supports them throughout their hardships and is content with his life, is more likely to have a happy life. Consequently,wealthiness does not particularly make people successful. In conclusion, while we live in a world where how wealthier a person is, defines his level of achievement, I disagree and argue back that money can not offer people a joyful life, and deem that happiness is what makes a successful person which could be reached with more significant elements as healthy relationships and gratefulness.