Some people think that competitive sports have a positive effect on the education of teenagers while others argue that the effect is negative. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People’s opinions differ, as to whether or not competitive sports affect the education of adolescents while others think it can affect negatively. Although there are some strong arguments in favour of bad influence, I still believe that it can be beneficial for the child. To begin with, competitive sports motivate youngsters to train harder, dedicate more quality time to the sport that they are into, follow a healthy way of life, eat healthy food, avoid bad habits, stick to the regime and many other things that they need to follow in order to be competitive and win. It’s only natural to apply more effort when the stakes are higher and less effort when the outcome is of less importance. With greater efforts in sport comes greater improvement in a variety of different areas like discipline, fitness, teamwork and potential awards. It is a well-known fact, that extra effort results in improved fitness levels as well as extending an individual’s boundaries about their perception of what they are capable of. Moreover, the majority of young people are ready to sacrifice even their free time in order to get the best results at some championships. In addition, the game reduces stress, handles different emotional problems as it is a good way to distract from one’s daily problems. Furthermore, playing in teams, helps to develop team-building skills, improve communicating skills, to get more friends with common interests and be more productive at school as all mentioned areas above are very important to keep our life in balance. In marked contrast, people who opt for the fact that there are more bad sides to the competitive sports than positive often claim that loss provokes in teenagers, depression, self-hate and even attempts to commit suicide. The best solution to this problem is to introduce different phycological sessions, where professionals will share some tips on what to do to handle these types of feelings and invite different sports players to share their experiences of tackling the feelings of failure. In conclusion, while some claim that competitive sports can undermine the sense of confidence of youngsters when they fail, I strongly believe that playing sports has more advantages than disadvantages, it helps to develop the minors not only athletically but also helps them to understand and value the competition and even if they fail, they feel they have achieved something, or they have overcome something developing them in better versions of themselves.