The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities is by reducing the need for people to travel from home to work , shopping and education.To what extent do you agree or disagree?Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge

It is commonly believed that the only way to ease traffic congestion in cities is to eliminate the necessity for people to commute to their workplaces and schools. While I understand that this is a partial solution, I disagree that it is the sole solution to tackle this issue. Reducing the need for individuals to travel to work and run their errands is an insufficient approach to deal with the increased traffic in cities. This is due to the fact that people who work or study from home end up relying on delivery services to buy their daily needs such as groceries or clothes. These services often use delivery trucks or motorbikes that consequently add to traffic congestion, which does not fully address the problem. In my opinion, there are more efficient ways to tackle the issue of traffic in populated cities. One example is the use of public transport. Authorities should encourage the public to make more use of public transportation especially when travelling for short distances as this will ease traffic in populated areas. Additionally, the government should ensure that the use of public transport services is practical and efficient in order to make it more appealing to the residents. Another way to address this problem is by laying an infrastructure that enables the community to travel by other means such as bicycles. A good example to highlight this is the City of Amsterdam, where the introduction of bike lanes has helped reduce traffic congestion in a very effective way. In conclusion, reducing the need for the public to travel to their workplace and shopping stores is only addressing a small part of traffic problems in cities. The government should focus on introducing more effective solutions to the problem.