The world's natural resources are being consumed at an ever-increased rate? What are the dangers of this situation? What should we do?

The overconsumption of natural resources has become a controversial topic recently. Many complications can arise from this situation and different measures can be taken to tackle the problems. Using too many natural resources may lead to both social and environmental issues. First, the excessive use of fossil fuels can bring about the depletion of these energy sources. The main reason for this is that these non-renewable resources take a long period to restore. As a result, there will be an energy shortage which may cause several social problems such as inflation or economic crises. Second, various animal species’ lives will be threatened. When humans exploit forests or water sources unreasonably, the natural habitats of these animals will be damaged. In order to resolve these issues, there are a few steps that can be taken to reduce the use of natural resources. Firstly, renewable energy sources such as wind and solar power should be used as alternatives. For instance, wind turbines are now set up in many areas all over the world. With these turbines, people can produce a lot of electricity which can be consumed for their daily activities. Secondly, everyone should use public transportations instead of individual vehicles. By doing this, the amount of fossil fuels used to power transport may substantially decrease. In conclusion, the overconsumption of natural resources can have negative impacts on both our society and the environment. However, there are several measures such as using alternative sources of energy and reducing the use of private transportations.