In some countries, schools are teaching foreign languages to primary school children. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s modern society, many primary schools usually force their students to learn a new language. I strongly believe that the beneficial effects are more considerable than the detrimental ones. It is undeniable that teaching foreign languages to primary school students has many demerits. First, children at that age usually do not know exactly what languages they are enthusiastic about, and schools may only teach them major languages such as English or Spanish. As a result, a child can feel demotivated and is likely to lose interest in learning a new language when growing up. Second, young learners may have to withstand more pressure. It is possible that they have to be under a lot of peer pressure to catch up with others. Besides, the amount of homework that students have to finish will increase, which can also be undoubtedly stressful. However, it is my firm belief that the benefits of organizing language classes in primary schools are more significant. To begin with, learning foreign languages at a young age might help children to broaden their horizons. The main reason for this is that it enables schoolers to understand other cultures. A good example of this is that learning English can provide students with knowledge about the cultures of such countries as England or New Zealand. Furthermore, being fluent in a second language can be a base for children to study many other subjects in the future. Also, for learners who have the intention to study abroad, getting used to a new language at an early age is a huge advantage for them. In conclusion, it is clear that teaching foreign languages to primary school students has several drawbacks. However, I am firmly convinced that the upsides are much weightier than the downsides.