Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment what damage does plastics do to the environment? What can be done by government and individuals to solve this problem

These days many people are talking about plastic being detrimental to the environment. Some of them believe there are great issues with plastic pollution, while others argue that there are solutions to this important issue. From my point of view, both perspectives have some merit and are valid, for the reasons provided in this essay below To start with, as far as problems with polyethylene pollution are concerned, firstly, to a larger extent, all over the world, it leads to the ocean and forests being polluted, which means killing marine life as well as animals. For example, one plastic bag can choke a fish leading to species extinction. In addition, in cities and towns, it creates microplastic, which produces chemical pollution, resulting in harmful effects to the soil and water. Therefore, issues with plastic pollutants are paramount. On the other hand, there are substantial solutions to this matter. First and foremost, by and large, in developed and underdeveloped countries, the local council should prohibit plastic shopping bags at grocery stores. Moreover, and most importantly, in general, the government should create public policies to ban plastic packaging and bottles. For instance, the state of Queensland had a 40% reduction on plastic waste after the local government prohibited it. Hence, pollution can be controlled. To conclude, from the arguments presented above, it is conceivable to understand that plastic is harmful for the environment. Although some people believe the problems are outstanding, there are many solutions to this matter. In my opinion, both of these are true from the ideas provided.