Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The younger generation is the backbone of our society. I totally agree that teenagers should be required to do community work in their free time. They should be taught from a very young age about the importance of community service and how it will help the humanity as well as their own development. One of the ways in which this can be done is by having schools and colleges include community service as a part of their curriculum. They can have their students do say twenty hours or so of community service each month other than their regular study course. They can provide them with different options each month be it serving at a senior citizens home or orphanage or volunteering to clean the neighbouring roads or parks. Community service will help the teens to be more responsible. They will inculcate belongingness to the community. This will also learn teamwork and leadership skills by working with others. Community service will help the community in many ways. It will also reduce the pressure on the government manpower to upkeep the society as they will have helpers helping them. It will also make the maintenance work quicker due to increased manpower. It will also help keep the surrounding clean. The younger generation can also bring in their creativity in community service, which will help both the community and themselves. To conclude, because community service will not only build responsible citizens and develop their personality, but it will also benefit the community, it is essential to let the youngsters do community work in their free time.