More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone?

Owing to the rapid development of many large cities, many people from the countryside are moving to the centre with the aim to have better lives with more opportunities and higher living standards. Although urban life is extremely harsh, the city’s authority can take some realistic measures to support its dwellers. There are numerous problems that city residents have to deal with. One of the primary issues that aggravate the difficulties of people is the high cost of living. Some basic costs such as rent, food, education and health care in the city are reported to be far more expensive than those of rural life. As a result, many households are in debt in order just to afford their daily needs, causing financial burdens on families. Additionally, there is always competitiveness in the labour force due to the dense population, which means it is hard to get a rewarding job. Residents of developed cities also face a high rate of unemployment and cheap labour. These problems remain challenges with many migrators from rural areas though they moved to cities for a long time. However, governments can have some solutions to alleviate these difficulties. So as to reduce the financial burden due to high living costs, some subsidies should be promulgated. For example, authority can support education and health care, which are the main proportions of most citizens’ expenditures, so they do not have to take loans to afford these expenses. Another measure is spending the government’s funds on other areas to entirely develop the country. This will cause the migration rate in some central cities to decrease and lessen the competitiveness of the workforce. Consequently, the urban life of many people can indirectly improve since they have greater chances to be employed. All in all, various measures can be taken in order to make life in the centre more comfortable for everyone to some extent. Nonetheless, urbanization is still an alarming issue in many countries, requiring governments to have long-term solutions.