Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person. Why do you think this is the case? What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is no denying that socialising is an essential, yet challenging issue, especially for teenagers, who are on the way to finding their place in life. Their need for immediate response can be the underlying reason for their preference for online meetings over face-to-face interactions. This might be addressed by prompting them to realise it is in their own interest to build those social skills later needed for their adult life. There is ample evidence that modern technology, such as the internet, has shaped our lives, but this has been particularly acute for teenagers and the way they interact with each other. A plausible argument for this might be the fact that they were born in the internet era, where they can have anything just one click away, without any waiting. This immediate pursuit of response can be the reason behind their inclination for online ways to socialise. But, despite the many benefits of the internet, it can act as a detriment to their future adult life, as the lack of real and close social interactions may hinder their future social skills later needed for the mounting challenges in their adult lives. Then, to properly address this issue, it is important to take a sympathetic standpoint towards teenagers and make them perceive it is in their own interest to take the necessary steps towards a more realistic social interaction approach. In conclusion, teenagers seem to be inclined toward socialising online for its sense of convenience, but they might not be aware this can later unfold into social underperformance in their adult life. Therefore, prompting them to see the future benefits of in-person relationships may be an effective approach to facing this issue.