Cycling is a healthier and more environmentally friendly form of transport. Nevertheless, cycling is getting less popular. What are the reasons of this trend? What can be done to make cycling more popular?

Indeed, using cycle for commuting has obvious advantages not only for the environment but also for the population. However, the trend of cycling has become decreasing nowadays. This essay will discuss potential reasons for this declining trend and also suggest some simple measures to popularize this activity again. Several factors related to reducing cycle usage are clear. One principal reason is the reduction in the cost of other means of transport. Because of the huge production of other modes of transportation, they become an affordable options for travelling so people have started to buy and drive vehicles instead of cycles. In addition, in this modern age, individuals are lacking time in their life because of their hectic schedules. They do not have time for healthy activities. Due to this, they want to commute to their desired destinations much quickly which is why they are not using cycles anymore. Despite these concerns being relatively valid, several steps can be considered to raise this activity again. Firstly, the government could invest a substantial amount of money to provide free cycles to the community. In this way, authorities can promote a habit of cycling among individuals. If free cycles are available, why would they use cars and buses. Another simple option is that policy-makers can make and implement laws to reduce working hours for professionals. By doing so, workers would have extra time which they may use for recreational activities like cycling. In addition, concerned authorities must also run awareness programs and campaigns about the benefits of cycling. In conclusion, while taking a cycle for travelling is the best option to save the environment and money, this phenomenon is gradually decreasing. It seems that long working-time and less awareness about the health benefits of using cycles are some of the main reasons which can easily be dealt with by reduction in workload and increasing affordability for society.