Some people say that spending the national budget on space exploration is a waste of resources. They insist that those funds should be spent on people living on earth. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that allotting funds for developing technology for space exploration is unjustifiable and that it should be allocated to the people on earth. While the majority of people think it is a good idea to address the current problems on earth such as climate change, poverty, pollution and ozone depletion, I would argue that there are more pros than cons to space exploration than meets the eye. To begin with, one important advantage of space exploration is that it gives humanity the opportunity to exploit additional resources in outer space. As many of us know, our fossil resources will become depleted sooner or later and when we run out of natural resources, our technological progress will likely suffer significantly. Hence, we want to continue to progress as a species and want to develop our technologies forward, the additional resources that can be extracted from asteroids are crucial in this regard. Additionally, it also allows us to detect serious threats that could potentially wipe out humanity. For instance, we may be able to detect a meteorite that is on collision course with our earth. In turn, we could take measures to prevent this collision. However, it can only be possible if we detect the meteorite in time and therefore, space exploration can be crucial to prevent catastrophic disasters in the future. In conclusion, while investing in space exploration can be expensive, it also has a bigger goal and that is to protect the human species from going extinct in the future.