Nowadays people depend on technology in their free time. Is this a positive or negative development?

With the advancement of technology, many individuals now spend much of their free time in front of screens rather than engaging in outside activities. During the course of this essay, I would elaborate on both the positive and negative impacts of such a phenomenon before drawing a rational conclusion. Obviously, using technology to enjoy people’s leisure time seems to have numerous advantages. To begin with, the availability of technology entertainment continues to be the key driver of increased interest in them. Simply said, thanks to technological advancements, recreational material is now available not just on computers but also on mobile phones and smart TVs. In addition, young people have recently developed workaholism, which leaves them with little time for other pursuits. As a result, adults now spend their leisure time playing video games, for instance, on their computers or laptops which can be considered time and effort-saving activities. Nevertheless, spending too much time on these activities brings about many consequences to users both mentally and physically. Regarding the former point, most individuals were more likely to spend their time interacting, communicating, and being further productive before games and other forms of virtual entertainment ruined their lifestyles with persistent habits. Furthermore, staring at the screen for hours can cause eye irritation, energy drain, memory impairment, and focus ability. Last but not least, since people are unable to spend much time with their family, it would fail to close the distance between family members. To conclude, most adults are definitely in favour of using technology to entertain and enjoy adventurous experiences these days. However, it should be considered a negative development as drawbacks would surely outweigh the benefits if people are addicted to such virtual forms of recreation.