The movement of people from villages to cities for work can cause serious problems in both places. What are the serious problems associated with this? What measures can be taken to solve these problems?

The issues of people considerably shifting from rural to urban communities have been in the limelight. The major problems arising from this migration are the shortage of labour in the countryside and oversaturated housing in cities. It is important for governments to take proactive approaches to manage these concerns It has been suggested that this population movement may cause inadequate labour for local farming and agriculture. When many people flood into cities, especially young ones, most seniors back home can hardly manage their lands, crops, and cattle, which involve multiple physically demanding tasks. As a result, in the long run, it may negatively impact local agriculture development. Meanwhile, cities could also face overcrowded living conditions after villagers move to urban communities. There will be dramatic pressure on the urban neighbourhoods, which already have limited room. For example, in the 2000s, many farmers immigrated to major cities in China and left many farming lands abandoned and wasted, which led to the Government inevitably importing certain foods to compensate for the local production. At the same time, the average square meter per resident in Beijing substantially declined. There are several actions that governments could take to solve these concerns. Firstly, they could provide financial support for people to initiate local agricultural projects. A successful story is in Canada, whose national government has been offering loans with free interest for any individual willing to build local farms. Promising outcomes have already been achieved as local agriculture is booming and the number of rural residents is recovering. Furthermore, governments may build more high-rise residential buildings in cities to accommodate the growing population and save land space. Tokyo has managed to solve the deficiency of housing by building many skyscapes. In conclusion, governments could use various measures to tackle the problems that were brought by this population migration, which might cause labour shortages in the country and limited housing supply in cities.