Some people think that sport teaches children how to compete, while others believe that children learn teamwork. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Sports add a lot of value to a person's life. Nowadays, offspring are offered classes in school or private coaching to excel in sports. People have mixed opinions about the outcomes of participating in sports, some think that children learn to compete while others believe they learn teamwork through playful activities. In my opinion, both of the aforementioned values can be acquired by playing games and are equally important for a child in their own way. To start with, there are numerous activities available in which sportsmen compete as solo participants. These solo versus sports boost the adrenaline of players and add the value of being competitive. Individuals should choose their sports accordingly. For instance, in a Swimming competition, a sportsperson swims to achieve the first prize for himself instead for a team. Hence, events with single-player participation are an exciting way for offspring to learn competitiveness. However, team -based events where participants should perform for their team to achieve victory, are more helpful to become an excellent team player. For example, in a Basketball game, players have to pass the ball to fellow teammates in order to score a goal successfully. In these events if a player fails to coordinate with fellow team members, will always lead the team toward loss. Therefore, games which involve team competition help a person to be great at teamwork. To conclude, although both values, teamwork and being competitive are beneficial for individuals, they should select their choice of sport based on their life goals.