The internet has vastly increased our access to information. To what extent do you think this is a good thing? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Knowledge is paramount for a society in order to thrive. It is undeniable that the internet has largely facilitated access to it. Personally, I firmly advocate this view, as I believe not only it has granted access to a huge source of information, but also for the convenience of this access. There is ample evidence that one of the main attributes the internet offers is its myriad of resources available, making it the preferred source for anyone when it comes to searching for information. For instance, it can be used to extract pieces of information students may need for research papers. Similarly, asking for directions seems no longer in use, as checking out an online map appears to be a general preference nowadays. Therefore, its vast amount of resources has become a pivotal element in anyone´s daily life. On the other hand, the internet offers the immediacy of access to data anywhere, anytime, making it an unparalleled resource to tap on. Before the internet era, education was almost exclusive to books and magazines, which had to be scrutinized thoroughly in order to find any particular piece of information. Conversely, the internet has provided the easiness and speed of access to a wide range of information, making this a unique feature of the internet. For the reasons mentioned above, it seems to me that the wide range of knowledge and the ease of connection has brought vast sources of material closer to everyone. Thus, allowing knowledge to reach out to any level of society. Concerned institutions and communities should not fail to ensure permanent access to any and all sources of information.