Students are not paying attention in school. Why? How to solve?

The importance of focus cannot be overestimated. This skill can help especially while studying or reading. It is argued that these days, ample learners are facing a difficult time concentrating on learning at school. In this essay, I shall explain how gaming and poor study environment are responsible causes and eliminating the use of digital platforms and self-discipline can be viable solutions. To begin with, pupils struggle to stay engaged both due to a natural predisposition and the pervasive impact of screen time. children throughout history have always wanted to escape their school lessons. This is because learning is difficult and provides little pleasure itself. Moreover, the advent of the ubiquitous internet era and portable devices such as smartphones has had an exponential effect on attention spans and diversionary priorities. For instance, most students today are addicted to short videos and posts on social media networks. Therefore struggle to follow the intricate arguments of lengthy lectures and extended readings. On a small scale, individuals can remedy these problems through sheer willpower but for broader change institutions must play an active role. The most immediate fix would be to ban phones. For example, there are many daytime schools in India which do not allow phones for pupils and as per observation, their results are comparatively higher than those with no restriction. Another step educational institutes could take would be to modernise the curriculum and account for reduced attention spans. For instance, as per the study conducted in past, short and interactive lessons stimulate learning, rather than the passive learning environment that has led to daydreaming for generations. To conclude, although this trend is likely an irreversible part of human nature and progress, schools can implement changes to curb its effects. Hence, it is important for parents and governments to be supportive of such reforms as well.