Smacking children is the best form of discipline. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Children ’s behaviour can be controlled in many ways but some people choose to use physical punishment. Some parents believe that physical punishment like smacking is the best solution to discipline their children. This essay will argue that using physical punishment is a totally unnecessary and also unacceptable approach to raising children. Some parents strongly believe that physical retribution is an effective way to control and behave their children. They are worried about the bad attitude of children in the future if they do not punish them at a younger age. In many cases, some behaviours are impossible to regulate by logical explanation and in some cases, physical retribution showed a great benefit to children ’s behaviour. These few instances are the reason why parents prefer smacking rather than other ways. Even though smacking children can help to control and improve their’s attitudes and actions, the idea that physical punishment is the best idea to discipline children is completely inappropriate. Based on many research and studies, physical punishment is one of the main factors in emotional and mental disorder development in adulthood. For example, 1000 students from universities in Thailand said that their anxiety and aggressive attitude toward others are the reason for being punished in their childhood. Apart from that, after being punished children turn to be more aggressive toward people surrounding them. Overall the idea that smacking children is the best manner to raise children has far worse outcomes for society and individuals’ futures. This essay argued that physical punishment is totally inappropriate and not the best option to raise children. In my opinion, physical punishment should not be an option in children ’s raising process.