More and more wild animals are on the verge of extinction and others are on the endangered list. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve this problem?

Animals in forests and woods have been the topic of concern for many environmentalists. A large number of wild animals are losing their habitat day by day and are at risk of becoming extinct. This essay will examine the reasons for this phenomenon and explore the solution for mitigating this problem. One of the primary reasons for the problem of vanishing species from jungles is growing urbanisation. The increasing population and construction of residential and commercial complexes in cities have destroyed trees which are the natural habitat for the local fauna leading to their populations dying out. For example, sparrows can no longer be found in urban areas. Additionally, poaching or hunting of wild animals is another reason for the decline in their numbers. For instance, the number of one-horned rhinos in the Indian subcontinent has been reducing over the decades because of being hunted for the ivory in their horns. As far as solutions are concerned, the first one is to impose legislation which will stop the cutting down of trees and create sanctuaries for protecting the habitats of all animal species. The second measure could be to institute heavy fines on violators of building rules when they resort to deforestation for the construction of urban spaces. Another step that the government should take is to announce stringent punishment for those apprehended in hunting endangered species. In conclusion, the situation of dying animal populations due to urbanisation and inordinate exploitation of wildlife by hunters and poachers has led to an increase in the number of creatures finding themselves on the endangered list. These challenges, however, can be solved by some simple steps by the state which include strict building regulations, setting up protected forest areas, heavy fines on violators and finally rigorous imprisonment of hunters.