Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subject. Other believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss and give opinion?

Some academic students present the view that acquiring knowledge about other areas as well as their main study is important, whereas others believe students should pay attention only to their main discipline. I strongly agree with the former opinion. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that learning additional subjects gives students a good insight to combine their main discipline with other areas. Nowadays, we live in a more complex world than past times. In order to get ready for better and more efficient jobs in future, students should know about other areas that are related more or less to their main subject. For instance, these days, software developers must not only have knowledge and skills in programming but also they should know how machinery is operated and how operators manage their jobs in order to develop automation that works efficiently. On the other hand, another group of people claim that a perfect qualification in one single subject is crucial for the success of students in future. They insist that students must pay all their attention and time to their main field of study in order to become experts. They believe that having Expertise in one main subject is enough to be successful in future. They exemplify scientists such as Einstein who dedicated his life to physics and won a Nobel prize. However, I do not find this argument convincing as a majority of students need to engage with other areas of science these days. In future, jobs and science are going to be extremely related to each other as even we can see a lot of Interdisciplinary majors in universities. To conclude, in my view, students should have wisdom in other fields too. Being familiar with other fields helps them to solve problems more easily and prosper in their jobs. Moreover, Interdisciplinary skills open the door to success.