Research shows that business meetings, discussions and training are happening online nowadays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, online platforms are used for business purposes such as meetings, discussions, and training. Through online platforms, participants in the meeting could save their time and energy which could be unnecessarily wasted if the meetings are done face to face. However, in contrast to this advantage, there is a possibility that online meetings could weaken the bonding between team members. In my opinion, these disadvantages outweigh the advantages because when the group project is gone through online, there could be a possibility of misunderstanding between business members. To begin with, if workplace meetings are held online, attendees might save their time and effort. To be specific, when the meetings go through face to face, there is a dilemma that all meeting members ’ schedules should be taken into consideration. However, if the gatherings are conducted online, the members will have no difficulty in arranging each member’s timetables. Furthermore, there will be less possibility of being restricted by time and place while using online platforms, because all the participants can join the meetings, anytime they want. As a result, attendants in the meetings can save unnecessarily wasted time and procedures. For example, in 2016, Kakao changed its internal regulation so that the workers in the group proceeded with their meetings through Zoom for effective performance. This change led Kakao to maximize business efficiency for employees. On the other hand, online meetings may cause the relationships between team members to weaken. If business gatherings are conducted online, there is a more possibility that the members who attend the meetings feel a sense of distance from each other compared to direct encounters, which will lead to a lack of communication. However, to deal with diverse problems occurring in a company, honest communications between coworkers are essential factors. Through face -to- face conversation, they will share new ideas and innovative thinking, which will be developed into decent solutions. In addition, another problem of online meetings is that they make individuals focus on only their work and be careless with others’ work, which also worsens the teamwork among workers. For example, a research team found that companies that mainly used Zoom as a method of group discussions went through difficulties because of inaccurate communication between co-workers. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this idea because while working on the group project online, there is a chance that business participants would misunderstand one another. To summarize, participants in the conference could conserve their time and energy by using online platforms rather than meeting in person, which could result in unnecessary time and energy waste. Online meetings may have this advantage, but there is a chance that they could also make team members less bonded.