Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more than other people in important professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Nowadays sports stars can earn millions of dollars. Some people think this is fair, but in my view, successful sports professionals are grossly overpaid. People who support high athlete wages would argue that sports stars only have a limited time to earn money. Top athletes have to spend many years training and pushing their bodies hard to perform well at an elite level. As a result, they are constantly at risk of injury, which can end their career very quickly. Also, usually after 5-10 years, they start finding it difficult to compete with newer, younger players. Consequently, many top athletes are forced to retire before age 40, so they need to earn a lot of money to last a long retirement. That is all very well, but the salaries paid to top sports stars are excessive and unfair. For instance, football star Cristiano Ronaldo is paid over $30 million a season to play for Manchester United. Such a figure is beyond the retirement dreams of any normal person and cannot be justified when the world is going through an economic crisis. Moreover, Ronaldo earns 350-400 times the salaries of people in crucial jobs such as teachers, nurses, and police officers. These jobs are necessary to support fundamental aspects of society such as education, our health systems, and law and order. Without them, society would collapse and people would die. The same cannot be said about a football player, no matter how well he can kick a ball. In short, elite athletes should be well remunerated, but their salaries should not be excessive. Paying them more modest amounts would be more respectful to the rest of society