Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads to what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads to what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Governments around the world have adopted different measures regarding which approach should be used to tackle traffic and congestion issues and improve public transformations. Some countries have spent more budget on building roads and expressways while some have more attention to public transportations like buses and trains. My opinion is quite aligned with the latter approach than the first. I will elaborate more on this topic in the following paragraphs. The most obvious consequence of having too many vehicles on the street is pollution. Especially how typical passenger cars emit CO2 and greenhouse gases which are toxic chemicals that can cause a lot of issues for humans and the environment as a whole. For instance, the PM 2.5 problem has been one of the most concerning environmental issues in Thailand for the past 5 years also being worsened by carbon emissions from passenger vehicles. Moreover, carbon emissions also help accelerated the severity of climate change which is the most imminent threat to humanity at the moment. Therefore, we must try to reduce the use of fossil fuels which are the source of energy for most passenger vehicles right now, and try to find more sustainable sources of energy instead. Most importantly, with how much technology in transportation has evolved over the last 20 years. Building roads and streets are not a sign of a country’s greatness anymore. Most developed countries have abandoned that approach and spent money on improving public transportation. Good public transportation will help reduce traffic conditions and congestion in the city and allow people to live outside crowded metropolitan areas. For example, Japan has one of the best railroad systems in the world. Hence, even though most companies are located in the city areas, citizens who do not live near the cities can commute to work without the need to own a car. Moreover, Having good transportation is also positively correlated with economic’s prosperity since it helps distribute money and resource to other areas outside the cities. In conclusion, I believe that having good and reliable public transportation like buses and railroads should be one of the priorities for governments around the world because not just it is a more sustainable way of commute, but it also helps improve people’s life quality, generates economic value and helps on reducing inequality as well.