The Only Reason For Learning A Foreign Language Is Work Or Travel. To what extent do you agree or disagree.?

As much as learning languages can benefit people in terms of finding decent jobs in multinational corporations or in terms of lessening the fear of travelling to different places in the world without knowing how to communicate. It is not all the benefits that languages can provide to those who aspire to understand them. There is a reason why languages and literature are one of the most popular faculties in colleges around the world and I will elaborate more on this in the next paragraph. Languages have been invented way before any multinational companies or tourism even existed. In languages, there are a lot of histories and cultures from that particular race entrenched in them. Every language has its uniqueness and speciality. By learning languages, we learn the way people and the thought process of those who use them like the way sentences in each language can be arranged differently. we learn about their social hierarchy. For example, in some languages, pronounces were used to indicate people ’s positions and status in the social hierarchy. Moreover, we also learn how their culture and society have progressed throughout history and the objective of those who invented them as well. For example, Korean syllables are well-known for being easy to learn because it was meant to be that way, person who invented them wanted this language to be easy to understand so that everyone including those who were uneducated and ill iterated from the lower class can quickly understand this language. In the aspects of learning languages for work and travel, there is less obligation for people to learn third languages when most multinational companies mostly use English as the main language of communication and in most tourist sites, people can communicate in English as well. And with the introduction of new technology like artificial intelligence, now we can use services like google translate to translate almost every language now. Even if it is not 100% accurate, it is still can adequately be used to express intentions. In conclusion, languages are not just a tool for communication. It is true that if people understand several languages, it might give them more chances to find decent jobs or travel to different countries. But it is not all that language can benefit us. By learning languages, we can connect to people from different races and cultures, learn their history and way of living, and help bring people around the world closer than ever before.