Tourism has increased so much over the last 50 years that it is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment, others claim that it is good for the economy. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion.

With the introduction of modern-day transportation systems like commercial aeroplanes and high-speed railroads, tourism became more and more prevalent and accessible to most people. Despite having obvious advantages like generating value for the economy, it also has a lot of drawbacks, some of which can be very concerning and need to be addressed quickly. If we do not take care of and tackle these problems, the negative impacts of tourism can eventually trumps all its benefits. I will elaborate more on this in the next paragraph. With a lot of people influx into tourist destinations that used to be just local residences, it can disrupt the way of living for people, animals, and important natural habitats in that area. Most of the natural land can be destroyed to make tourist residences like resorts and hotels. Natural resources can be exploited and consumed by tourists who will eventually stay just for a short period and will not have to suffer the consequences of these actions. Congestion, noise, pollution, garbage, and waste are some of the problems that residents have to encounter as a result of irresponsible tourism and it can have long-lasting effects on these areas. For example, there was a report that there are a huge amount of human faeces left on Mount Everest or how local inhabitants in Hawaii had to beg tourists not to visit the place because of the massive demand for foods and products due to a high number of tourists, locals now cannot afford to buy goods and services in the area that is supposed to be their hometown. However, tourism is not without its advantages. Just like what I’ve already mentioned, it can produce economic value for the country and it is especially crucial for one that depends on the service sector and has to rely on the number of tourists to stay competitive in the global economy. Moreover, tourism if promoted and executed well can help promote small and local businesses and distribute money back to local residents. In conclusion, leisure and exploration are both very essential parts of human life because of that, tourism is unavoidable. Governments and central authorities need to step up and find a way to tackle the negative impacts of tourism, find a way to make tourism more sustainable, and prioritize the goal of helping local people and preserving the environment.