Some people think that work is the most important thing of people's life. Without the success of a career, life becomes meaningless. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that work and career became one of the most important aspects of people ’s life. Not just it is the way people find the means to support themselves and their families but it is one of the crucial factors that most people will take into account when determining one ’s success. Despite how essential it is, I do not believe that the success of a career is the only thing that matters in life and it certainly does not define who we are as a person. I will elaborate more on this in the next paragraph. First and foremost, the success of a career is associated a lot with how much money one can make, and the notion that our only intrinsic values are how much we can work and how much economic value we can produce only became popular and entrenched in people ’s minds because of the capitalistic ideal which places importance on how much profit or economic than everything else. As a result, people associate their values with career achievement and level of income which despite being a really popular idea, it is the fact. For example, university professors are likely to make less money than a lot of high-level corporate employees but it does not mean being a professor has less merit or provides less value to society as a whole. Secondly, indeed, our society does not place an equal amount of attention and admiration on every career and occupation. For example, blue-collar workers generally have fewer merits in the eyes of people in society than careers like doctors, lawyers, or even white-collar jobs like corporate workers. Because of this, a lot of people are forced to pursue a career they do not feel passionate about which can later result in people being resentful toward their jobs and eventually burnout. And even if they fought their way to the top of the field, it still does not mean that person feels satisfied with their career. Lastly, there is more to people ’s life than work. There are plenty of activities that people do outside of work like spending time with loved ones, pursuing hobbies and interests, connect with other people in the community. Despite not being related to money and economic value, these activities still bring us joy and happiness. In conclusion, despite how work and career are very important in terms of producing income and economic value. It is not all that humans are meant to do in life. We are not a machine that only has one purpose which is to produce goods therefore, we should not define our value by how much profit or money we can make. There is more to us than that.