In many countries, people now wear western-style dresses such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

People in multiple regions now prefer dressing up in western clothes like suits and jeans to wearing traditional clothing. In my opinion, this trend comes with both merits and demerits for human beings. Firstly, modern clothing is more comfortable and suitable in any occasion nowadays. In daily life, individuals choose to dress up with simple items like t-shirts, jeans, and sneakers. Hence, all of them can be used at school, in a festival, or an exhibition. In office places, employees are required to wear as the dress code, which are usually clothing that manifest seriousness and respect toward other people. Clothing from the west are various in types and styles, creating a new preference for any age. However, abolishing traditional clothing could lead to loss of national customs. Each country or ethnic has their own unique symbols and meanings after the original costume, therefore introducing the nation’s own features in every piece of cloth. This means that the traditional clothing plays a significant role in keeping the tradition and handing it down to the next generations. If the descendants have no consciousness about their traditional costume, they will not even understand the origin of their ancestors. To sum up, I believe that wearing western clothes have either benefits or drawbacks. The important thing is people need to know the limit of fashion trends and preserve the tradition of their countries.