In many countries, people now wear western-style dresses such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent times, thanks to the advance of the Internet, fashion trends have spread widely and are known by numerous people all over the world. Thus, some individuals opt for western costumes for instance suits and jeans instead of traditional clothing. This essay will discuss the factors which contribute to the development. There are a few reasons for some people ’s preference for western clothes over traditional costumes. Firstly, as the fashion industry thrives, various designs and costumes are brought to people. The items which are well-liked and used by many consumers are certain to become fashion trends. A lot of people tend to follow these trends and wear the clothes which are popular and fashionable. Therefore, traditional costumes are considered old-fashioned, out of date clothes and are no longer worn by people. Secondly, due to globalization, the cultures of many countries are now spread widely among people. Plenty of individuals nowadays are interested in other countries’ culture, so they are also fond of wearing costumes from different cultures. People wearing western clothes rather than traditional costumes has both positive and negative sides. On the one hand, it encourages globalization and helps people to be more knowledgeable about different cultures all over the world. On the other hand, this development may lead to traditional clothing being ignored and forgotten. In conclusion, there are both positive and negative points about people preferring western clothes. However, this trend might continue to happen in the near future.