Is it good for children to start using computers from an early age and spend long hours on them

These days, children have utilized computers for a long time at an early age. While some people have claimed that it is better for them to familiarize it earlier because of the importance of digital literacy, some scientists have stated that this activity could bring about detrimental impacts to them, namely physical diseases and mental health problems. In this essay, I shall discuss the benefits and drawbacks of the phenomenon. On the one hand, there is a clear reason why this idea would be beneficial for children. Additionally, It is evident that digital literacy has a pivotal role in our daily life, including being a requirement for applying to certain schools or jobs. By exposing electronic devices as soon as possible, the children would have a better knowledge of using computers. As a result, they would potentially have a better chance in their academic and career. For instance, in the Surabaya job fair 2020, almost all the job opened only for those mastering basic knowledge of operating computers. On the other hand, since it is evidence that computers have given some negative impacts on human health mentally and physically, some scientists have believed that it is preferable to avoid exposing computers to children from an early age. Additionally, the study of human development in 2021 from the State University of Surabaya claimed that children need more physical activities instead of using electronic devices; thus, the best way to provide learning methods for them is by using fun physical games, such as singing, dancing, and doing some sports. For example, in the UK, most schools do have no electronic devices in their learning process due to keep away the detrimental impact. In conclusion, there are pros and cons to introducing computers to children. However, because of the detrimental effect of the idea, I believe that it is preferable to avoid the implementation of the idea for children at an early age.