There are many reasons that can motivate a person to stay working for the same company. Some believe that money is the main reason. Do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that money is a major reason people remain with a company. This essay disagrees with that view, arguing that family and health are more influential motivators. One of the main reasons someone would continue to work for a company would be the ability to spend time with their family after work. When a job demands long hours from the employees, it causes a rift between family members as they are unable to spend quality time together. Consequently, families drift apart as the members become more and more alienated. For instance, in the USA, nurses who work a significant number of hours per week have higher divorce rates than those who do not, despite being well paid. This illustrates that although they earn a decent living, money cannot substitute for family. However, earning less means the family stays together. Another reason they might stay employed at a company would be because they receive health benefits, which could include free or discounted gym memberships, access to private doctors or health insurance. These benefits allow employees to stay fit and healthy, and they are looked upon favourably by employees because haleness is more valuable than money. For example, employers in America often include health insurance in their employee's packages in hopes that it will influence their decision, even though the offered salary might be lower than the market value. This therefore displays the importance of health compared to wealth. In conclusion, people stay at a company for a number of reasons. I disagree with the statement that money is the primary motivator, because I believe that it is family and haleness which are the main motivators.