Too much emphasis is placed on going university for academic education. People should be encouraged to do vocational training, because there is a lack of qualified tradespeople such as electricians or plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times we have seen more candidates inclining towards white-collar professions rather than technical or labor inducive careers. A simple reason for this shift is money. In this essay, we shall delve into both sides and discuss how people can be encouraged to take up more vocational skills before embarking on my final viewpoint. To commence on the first aspect, in this ever-flourishing time and age, people have more economic stability. Therefore, they opt for a more academic-oriented job opportunity. Simply put, people from all sectors have gotten adjusted to a certain standard of living and they encourage their offspring to follow the same tradition. For instance, teenagers are often instructed to take up Science or Commerce streams for their undergrad study for the obvious facilities and benefits one gets at the end of their academic cycle. One cannot simply dismiss such comfort. Probing further, due to an increase of students in the above-mentioned stream choice, the number of technicians has drastically reduced. Moreover, in developing countries, due to a massive population, we can still find professionals tending to such needs. Whereas, in a more equipped society, it is almost impossible to find qualified electricians around. For example, such communities often depend on their own skill sets to get their work done. Furthermore, as tradespeople have a lower income, medical benefits or educational loans are generally inaccessible to such individuals. In conclusion, I agree that there is an eminent need for more professionals from this economic sector. The government can provide financial aid to individuals from this belt to make sure that their skill set is not lost. Also, schools can promote children to take up such courses moving further so that we can keep the art alive.