Some feel that individuals today spend too much time following political news while others feel politics deserves greater attention. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

In times of global political instability, correlating either with an election results in one country, or the demise of democracy in the other, a great debate always arises between two opposite camps: apolitical people, and those, who follow politics on a regular basis. The supporters of the former argue, that it is a waste of time, and the followers of the latter think, that it is an extremely important part of our life. From one point of view, too much time is dedicated to politics, and young people spend too many hours a day scrolling the websites of the New York Times or the Wall Street Journal. Consequently, some argue that it is a complete waste of time, as we should not focus on the things, that cannot be changed or controlled by regular people, for it is much more beneficial to focus on those aspects of our lives, that can be managed directly. From another point of view, there is a plethora of individuals who claim, that politics truly deserves great attention and is of great value. Contrary to the beliefs of the other camp, the advocates of this idea are convinced that it directly affects our lives, and in order to improve other spheres of our society, like health care and education, political institutes must be fixed first. Moreover, if a nation is not directly involved in governmental processes, it becomes apolitical, eventually turning into an authoritarian state and dictatorship. In conclusion, I firmly believe, that it is absolutely crucial to follow political news. Developing a very apolitical mindset in society inevitably leads to a totalitarian state.