Some people believe that smartphones are destroying social interaction today. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals hold the view that cell phones are causing detrimental effects on contemporary society these days. I totally agree with this opinion because it can be seen that the way people communicate with each other has drastically changed since Androids and iPhones appeared on the market. The issue will be examined in the essay. On one hand, technology has altered users’ life in a positive way. For example, thanks to smartphones it has become possible to attend meetings online which was especially helpful in 2020 when the pandemic hit. Thus, cell phones enabled employees and businessmen to continue working. Needless to say, if phones did not exist economy and the level of quality of life would have suffered much more in 2020-2021. As a result, the number of the poor would increase. On the other hand, phones and social media have significantly changed the style of social communication nowadays. Some individuals think that if aliens came to the Earth they would say that smartphones are superior species controlling mankind. It can be seen that it is becoming less popular to meet with friends, relatives and colleagues in real life due to technology which might be detrimental to mental health, soft skills and social connections. To illustrate, a survey conducted in 2021 has shown that the most preferable way to communicate for adults aged 18 to 45 is via WhatsApp and Facebook. So, social interactions are being destroyed by smartphones. Science says that human beings are social creatures but it is not the case anymore because people got used to the virtual world and often feel uncomfortable interacting with other individuals in the real life. In conclusion, even though cell devices have proven to be useful in many areas it is obvious that the approach to people's communication has altered. Hence, some people have become isolated. Probably, it would be a good solution to start using dumb or feature phones instead of smartphones in order to change the situation.