One way to solve problem of congestion in cities is to build sky trains which run overhead rather than on or under the ground. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using this solution to solve congestion?

It is undeniable that public transportation like railroads is the solution to congestion and traffic issues. However, it is still debatable which approach government should use when deciding to build railroads, sky trains, or underground railways. While both of these options have their own benefits and downsides, I personally believe that the underground railroad system is going to be a much better option, especially in city areas and I will elaborate more on this in the following paragraphs. Firstly, by building a metro system underground, there is no limitation on the space that can be used as a station. Hence, stations for underground trains can be bigger and accommodate a greater number of people. Secondly, it is easier to maintain and fix the train when it is underground. Furthermore, the chance that accidents will happen to everyday people during maintenance since it is underground, far from the street and neighbourhood. Lastly, in the already established city, building the overhead sky train can make the view of the city less pleasing overall. For example, most prominent cities in the world decided to put their train systems underground instead of overhead. However, the overhead sky train is not absolutely without its merits. First will be the cost of construction is significantly lower. Moreover, it takes less time and level of expertise to build compared to underground trains. Therefore, in a country with less budget but wishing to have decent public transportation for people, building overhead rail systems might be a better option. In conclusion, planning on building public transportation is an intricate and greatly difficult process. Not only do we have to consider the budget but also other factors that are associated with it as well. However, I believe building an underground system is a far more desirable and sustainable option overall.