Many young people choose to take a year out between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel. The experience of non-academic life this offers benefits the individual when they return to education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that a number of school graduates who wants to take a year in order to travel and gain work experience is increasing. Personally I think it is a great tendency as this time gives young people various opportunities to get to know what real life is, to understand what they want to do in their life, what career to choose and to avoid mistakes and lost time studying wrong things. This essay will provide a closer look at the impact of travelling and post-school labour experience on youth. First of all, it is a well known fact that travelling to other parts of the world broadens our mind, provide people a fantastic chance to get to know different cultures, to gain experience in different areas of life, so before returning to the university it can help to the individuals to explore and clearly understand their own genuine interests. Furthermore, if a person got an idea about his or her future profession, they can choose some country which is famous for having the best specialist in this area, go there, meet them and only after that clearly understand is this what they really want to do for the rest of their lives or not. For example, visiting Paris or Moscow to see arts can spark an idea and will help them decide on which course to enroll at the university. On the other hand, recent researched have shown that pre-university experience has an enormous advantage to students when they return to university. This is because they can relate what they learn at school to their work. In addition, they can compare what they study and what they really need to focus on to become more competitive and successful applicant for the after-university job. For example, working as a barista at Macdonald, teach them about cash, operation and time-management. Moreover, they can easier and more clear understand the theoretical aspect of business, that is a great advantage too, in order to outpace future competitors. In conclusion, travelling and getting work experience helps students to understand courses’ s theory better, to learn to separate the seeds from the chaff. It is clear as sky to me that it is a wonderful and beneficial idea to take a year out. It is highly recommended to all school graduates to take a gap year in order to gain some experience before enrolling on higher education.