Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people hold the view that governments should dedicate more budget to railways compared to roads. I partially agree with this idea. Although rail-based transportation can make a significant contribution to the economy of a country, having safe and standard roads is also of crucial importance for people. On the one hand, an extended network of railways can exert a huge impact on the economic development of a country. It has been acknowledged that railways can scale up the transportation of goods, which is a vital necessity for the prosperity of an area. In addition, this mode of transportation can even boost the export of products, raising a country's foreign trade. For instance, a survey conducted in East Asia has revealed that regions with a more diverse network of railways tend to have higher exports by 16 per cent. On the other hand, governments should pay sufficient attention to roads. People using cars and busses demand secure and standard roads, which is an urgent concern for their safety. Research carried out in the US has demonstrated that the states in which less money was spent on roads had a larger number of car accidents. In summary, some believe that administrations should devote more budget to railways; however, my personal opinion is that they should pay equal attention to the construction of secure and well-established roads.