Some people think that the main purpose of schools is to turn children into good citizens and workers, rather than to benefit them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people are of the opinion that the primary role of schools is to create good citizens, instead of merely working towards individual betterment. During the course of this essay, this statement would be subjected to objective discussion before drawing a rational conclusion. Obviously, there are a plethora of reasons to support the given perspective; nevertheless, the value of a well-functioning society seems to be the most widely accepted. As contemporary society moves into a phase of rapid developments in medicine, technology, welfare and so on, the luxury of conformity requires people to sacrifice their individualism for common prosperity. To be specific, individuals are expected to function harmoniously to both stimulate the economy and preserve the peaceful existence amongst communities. As much as these prerequisites require education, school is where this education can initiate. In many educational institutions, teachers have the power to both openly and subconsciously influence students’ socially responsible actions and provide them with a solid foundation for future employment. On the other hand, this perspective should not be considered an ideal one. As a result of following their own ostensibly selfish goals, students who are taught to share, work effectively in teams, and enhance their talents can benefit society. In addition, it’s possible that occasionally the emphasis on society may come at the expense of people’s mental health. For instance, pupils who are instructed to keep their personal opinions to themselves in class, as is typical in many authoritarian countries, could harbour anger and feel unable to properly express themselves in a democratic setting. According to cognitive science, the ability to express oneself without worrying about negative consequences or repercussions is essential for well-rounded development. In conclusion, while there is a case to be made for societal stability, schools should work to develop strong, motivated students. Naturally, these objectives do not conflict with one another, and it is important to highlight the overlap.