In recent years,many smallocal shoops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or. -malls to do their shopping. Is this. a. positive or a negative development?

Over the last few years, the local people went to buy their needs from malls and large markets and did not go to the local ones. Which led to their closure. I believe that this phenomenon has various drawbacks. The prevalence of huge malls and the closure of the local stores have several disastrous outcomes. The stores opening in the malls are multinational brands which do not match the local habitats' needs, while the local shops do. Moreover, these multinational brands are far more expensive than the domestic ones, which results in making people buy fewer items at higher prices, and not satisfying all their needs. For instance, in Egypt, many stores closed because of the high number of malls opened there, yet many people now do not find products matching their needs while it is not affordable for many others, due to the termination of the domestic ones. I believe that the closure of domestic stores has many negative outcomes on society and the country. Firstly, it increases the unemployment and poverty rates. Secondly, it may lead to the bankruptcy of the local business owners and send them to jail eventually. Finally, it damages the country's economy, because when people can not compete with multinational brands, the majority of the traders will leave the market, and thus economy will be affected. For example, in Iraq when the malls spread in the country there, the local people were unemployed, in addition to the country's economy was damaged. In conclusion, I hold the notion that the closure of the national stores due to the spreading of malls has various disastrous results on both citizens and society. Like more expensive goods for the folks, bankruptcy of business owners, higher unemployment rates, and affecting the country's economy badly.