Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rathe than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Certain individuals argue that students should be taught non-local languages since primary school rather than during secondary school. The advantages of this development far exceed the disadvantages because children are more malleable and presented with multiple options. On one hand, one side asserts that it is easier for teenagers, as compared with pre-teens, to learn new things because they are less burdened due to having grasped the basics of their own tongue and possess more clarity with their choices. This is because languages are known to overlap in their grammatical structure and lexical resources and by the teenage, and many adolescents are ready with their career choices, aiding them in their foreign language selection. For example, it was published recently in an article that, in 2021, many secondary students well-understood and correctly spoke the German language because they had made up their minds to study automotive engineering in German Universities. Thus, because of the confidence in the chosen option and transferability of skills required to learn a few languages, few people think that secondary schools should add foreign languages to their curriculum. On the other hand, the other side argues that teaching primary students these skills last longer since they are more moldable and are more likely to develop a love for a particular lingo as opposed to taking the course just because the career requires it. This is due to the neural plasticity of their developing brains and no other motives, other than the process of learning, being part of their psychology. To illustrate, it was found by Nature Magazine that early childhood education is almost 72% more important than the later stages as with every question asked, a new synapse is created in the brain at that time. Moreover, this newly created connection creates the urge to ask even more questions, eventually developing admiration for the whole process. Therefore, it is even more important to give these learners a healthy breeding ground instead of just another arrow in their arsenal. In conclusion, few people think that it is important for children to learn other languages as early as possible. In my opinion, this idea's pros overweigh the cons because they allow a sustained learning process, which is more meaningful than a superficial one to meet credits for the desired career.