It is more important for the government to spend money on promoting the healthy lifestyle to prevent illness rather than on the treatment of people who are really ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether the government should subsidize money in healthcare to prevent illness or allocate funds to the treatment of patients has become an intense debate these days. I firmly believe that the former option is more beneficial than the latter and will outline my arguments for this opinion in this essay. On the one hand, treatment plays a vital role in our society. It is obvious that some diseases are inevitable, especially those that are common in the old. For example, diabetes is a chronic condition that affects many elderly people, regardless of their lifestyles or habits. In addition, government support is critical when the treatment costs exceed the patients’ financial capacity. Many people in developing countries, for instance, cannot afford the expensive and prolonged treatment for cancer, which has become a major concern of working families. In these cases, providing a cure is the sole way to ensure people’s health and civil rights. Nevertheless, there is a wide range of evidence proving that prevention is always better than cure. By adopting a healthy lifestyle, the masses are less likely to develop illness. The fewer patients there are, the less money will be invested in treatment facilities, medicines and healthcare staff. This is substantially profitable for saving money since that amount can be allotted in other domains such as military, and education. Moreover, being ill may lead to a few detrimental consequences. For instance, if a worker gets ill, not only their productivity is reduced, but also their health is compromised. Once the productivity and well-being of citizens drop, it will have an adverse impact on the economy as well as on society as a whole. To recapitulate, while both approaches are essential, I am of the opinion that the government should spend more resources towards stimulating citizens to adopt a healthy lifestyle. However, the authorities should also take everything into serious consideration to distribute money precisely on each side. By doing this, people will stay healthy and the economy as well as society will sustainably grow.