Shortage of houses has become a severe problem in the cities today and only the government can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this.

Metropolitan areas are facing a severe lack of housing nowadays. To solve this problem, it is believed by certain individuals that only the government be the saviour. I completely agree with this statement because although the general population is blamed to move into cities, increasing house prices and reducing the availability of accommodations; the government is the one controlling this influx. On one hand, the locals criticize outsiders to flood their cities and eventually raising the prices of basic necessities such as accommodation since they believe that it is their right to claim them and these outsiders have the choice to move elsewhere. This is because when they move in, they occupy only most of the available houses, leaving behind only a scarce amount for the rest and this raises their prices sharply. For instance, owing to skyrocketing IT companies in the city of Bangalore, an excessive amount of workers buy apartments and it raises prices for the people staying on rent for many years. Thus, the newcomers are censured for this trend. On the other hand, the government lies at the base of making the policies that shape this flow of residents, pouring unmanageable headcounts in these centralized areas. In order to achieve lightning-fast progress for their economy, politicians deliberately construct special economic zones and provide businesses grants for operating there. Had they been not driven by the greed for quick developments and prioritized sustainable advancement the rural population would not have any incentive to move to more developed places. For example, Forbes India magazine attributed the skyrocketing number of residents in Pune city to the soaring job opportunities posted by the newly created IT consulting companies in the government-funded tech villages. Therefore, regulations and grants given to selective businesses are the prime culprits. In conclusion, even though certain people blame new employees who come to their cities for the lack of homes, the priority treatment given to large corporations for economic gain, in my opinion, is the primary reason behind this trend, which can be only tackled by stopping this malpractice.