The best way to solve the world's environmental problem is to increase the price of fuels. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Environmental issues namely, global warming, increase in the earth's temperature, pollution and melting of ice are on the rise. A major section of society thinks that increasing the prices of fossil fuels is the best way to solve these issues. However, I strongly disagree with this solution and believe that cleaner alternatives to fuel consumption need to be developed instead. There is no doubt that air pollution is on the rise due to the use of fossil fuels for transportation and industries. If the petrol and diesel price is increased, it will not lead to a reduction in their usage because the rich will still be able to afford to buy them at higher prices as well as essential items transportation will ensure the fuel is consumed even at higher prices. On the contrary, the poor will suffer drastically as it will lead to food inflation. Hence, I believe that costly combustibles are not a viable option for the environment. Rather than increasing the cost of gasoline products, it is better to think about alternate and cleaner options to reduce their consumption such as solar energy, wind and electricity. For example, some countries are now giving subsidies to their citizens to purchase electric vehicles in order to encourage them to stop using the vehicles that consume these pollutants. In addition to this, some nations are trying to reduce the industrial utilization of these fuels by spending on research to find out if renewable sources like wind and solar energy could substitute these non-renewable sources. To summarize, according to me, it is not possible to overcome the problems affecting the environment by making the fuel purchase dearer, even though there are growing voices in the affirmative. Opposing this opinion, I am of the view that the use of greener and cleaner alternatives like wind, sun and electricity is a better solution to overcome the environmental problems of today.