‘The Internet will never replace traditional course books in schools.’ How far do you agree with this prediction?

With the advent of the internet, the use of e- books is increasing day by day. Despite this, it has been predicted that they will never be able to replace their paperback counterparts. I fully agree with this prediction due to the pitfalls of e- books and the advantages offered by physical books. It is possible to get digital copies of all the books on the web. A recent increase in the use of electronic forms is mainly because of portability. Moreover, some publishers even offer discounts on e- books. However, digital books have some drawbacks such as having a negative impact on health and causing distractions. For example, prolonged reading on the computer can lead to eye strain as well as it is easy to get distracted by other websites related to news, fashion, shopping and so on. Hence, web-based books are not finding any takers due to these demerits. On the other hand, physical books are better than e- books due to the fact that they neither have adverse effects on health nor lead to any interruption. For instance, a few days back I read an article in the Times of India newspaper, according to which, 70% of the city engineering students prefer physical books in spite of the availability of their computerised copies as they think during exams they need to study incessantly and studying on desktops would not let this happen. Thus, traditional course books are better. To summarize, there is growth in the sale of web-based books as compared to the past. Even though web versions of books are portable, they lead to adverse effects on the eyes and lesser absorption capabilities, due to which students get discouraged to use them, and instead prefer paperback versions. So, without any doubt, I am in complete agreement with the prediction that physical books will never get replaced by their internet counterparts.