Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that authorities should expend more financial resources on rail networks as compared to road construction. This essay agrees with this statement because it will reduce air pollution and commute duration will reduce significantly. Firstly, when governments spend more on railways, it will help to curb air pollution. This is because,with better rail connectivity, more citizens will start using trains to travel. As a result, many cars will not run-on roads, and there will be less carbon dioxide emitted into the atmosphere. To illustrate, a recent study by Cambridge University found that if 20% of the community starts using trains to reach London from the suburbs, it will significantly reduce air pollution as less number of cars will run on roads. Secondly, spending more money on railways will enhance rail-network connectivity, and consequently, it will reduce travel time. This is because a large number of cars running on roads leads to traffic congestion. Due to this, travel time increases significantly. However, in the case of travelling via train, there is no obstruction on railway lines and people can reach their destination in less time. For example, Japan has the best railway infrastructure and most people of Japan use trains to travel because trains can take passengers to their destination in minimum time. In conclusion, state authorities should spend more on the railway system because it will reduce air pollution and trains will decrease travelling time. Therefore, it is predicted that governments will invest more money in strengthening the rail network.