Some people think that the environmental problems are too big for individuals to solve. Others, however, believe that the problems cannot be solved if individuals do not take some actions. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some individuals believe that environmental issues are too complex for many single people to tackle. Others, on the other hand, feel that if individuals do not take any action, the problems will be impossible to solve. In this essay, I will discuss the arguments of both sides and explain why I tend to favour the latter view. People support the former view for some reasons. Firstly, environmental problems, such as climate change, water shortage, and air pollution, are global issues. They cannot be solved by the effort of human beings or even individual governments. Only when all countries and governments take it seriously can they tackle this issue thoroughly. Furthermore, many environmental questions are caused by the development of industries and agriculture, which required a large investment to handle it. That means individuals are unlikely to have a significant impact on it. On the other hand, there are also multiple reasons why individual action is crucial for environmental issues. Firstly, if everyone can make a small change in their daily life, it can have a huge impact on the environment. For example, once every people raise the awareness of saving water and put the theory into practice in their life, it will greatly help to handle the water shortage issue. Furthermore, without individuals taking part in it, the government's attitude toward the environment will hardly be changed. If everyone calls for the changing of development methods into an environmentally friendly ones, it will put pressure on the governments and companies to change their policies. By doing that, it is more likely that we can have a better environment. All in all, it seems to me that both individuals and government should do their share to protect the environment so that the issues can be solved.